top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Stone, LMHC

Love Languages

Updated: Oct 9, 2021

“You call it madness, but I call it love.” – Nat King Cole

How many times in literature, media, etc., have we heard the word love as being associated with the words “mad” or “crazy?” A lot! That's because love can be confusing, complicated, overwhelming, upsetting, and turn-my-world-upside-down amazing -- there are ups and downs in relationships which lead us to sometimes feel a little nuts. Relationships take work, too, so it can sometimes feel exhausting to know how to initiate or maintain a healthy, loving relationship.

Relationship concerns come up a lot in individual therapy! Having a reciprocal relationship, where we both individuals give and receive affection and love is really important. One-sided, imbalanced relationships, especially for prolonged periods of time, often result in significant difficulties and the relationship may not last. Knowing ways to give and receive love is important.

Dr. Gary Chapman identified Five Love Languages – the things that help us feel loved and express our love. Knowing your partner’s love language and “speaking” their love language can be key. Individuals may feel loved by one or two primary love languages, or they may prefer and be responsive to a combination of loving efforts.

Swipe for info on the five love languages (and a bonus sixth love language that's been proposed) and how they may “look” or “sound” in a romantic partnership.

These same love languages can apply to other close relationships, such as friendships, too!

In what ways to you prefer to receive love? You can take a free quiz and learn more at



bottom of page